Slow Cooker Turkey and Black Bean Chili

I fully accept that this recipe is just dumping cans in a pot. It probably covers the entire adult RDA of sodium. But it’s sooo good and sooo easy! I’m planning to experiment with switching some of the ingredients to low-sodium versions… but here’s the original.

Yield: About 8 x 1 cup servings.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground turkey breast
  • 3 tablespoons taco seasoning (½ of a 1.25 ounce packet… I use Ortega)
  • 1 x 15 ounce can Mexican-style stewed tomatoes*
  • 1 x 15 ounce can black beans
  • 1 x 15 ounce can whole kernel corn
  • 1 x 5.5 ounce can V8 (or tomato juice)

* I hate the texture of chunky tomatoes, so I blend them in a food processor before adding to the slow cooker.

Directions:

  1. Brown the turkey in a large skillet and drain off any extra fat.
  2. Place the turkey in a 3½ – 4 quart slow cooker.
  3. Add all the other ingredients (do not drain the beans, tomatoes, or corn) and stir.
  4. Cook for 2-3 hours on high or 4-6 hours on low.

We like to have it with tortilla chips, shredded cheese, and stir in just a bit of sour cream. The sour cream really enhances this dish. If I’m on my game, I make cornbread to go with it as well.

(Adapted from SparkRecipes.)

Leave a comment